Searching For Creativity

Organic Gardening

Posted on: March 6, 2007

Gardening

I’m definitely getting the itch to put down some roots (literally)… a little hard to do in an apartment. So, as I said I would in a previous post, I made a list of all the websites that I have saved in my favorites for the day when I’ll actually have my very own garden. They aren’t technically all organic, but there are a lot of heirloom, rare, and organic choices.

When I was pregnant with Brendan, Ginny and I actually used the first “Square Foot Gardening” book to plant a garden at my mom’s house. I think we both really liked the system. Now he has a new book out with even more great ideas (see the link to the left). I’m pretty sure I’m going to use his plan when I get around to another garden. Unfortunately the garden we planted together wasn’t kept up well enough (I don’t know why I thought I’d have time when I had a baby a month after we planted), and there wasn’t enough sunlight (which is why I’m not trying it again this year). I did try planting a little last year, and the sun was still to much of a problem even though I used the sunniest spot in the huge garden plot they have. Just to many trees around. Maybe I should just research plants that don’t need much sun… basil did well. Maybe I should just make a ton of pesto this summer… yummy.

I also just added a link to a great source of organic meats and eggs.

Leave a Reply

About Me…

A stay-at-home mother of 3 trying to balance homeschooling, gardening, baking, and crafting besides all the day-to-day upkeep of house and family (and still keep my sanity).
I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

Flickr Photos

Libby's Rabbit House

An embroidered potted Alium

A visiting Robbin

More Photos
Follow Me on Pinterest
