Searching For Creativity

Pillow Makeover

Posted on: March 25, 2008

My pillows were beginning to look pretty awful (thanks to the little guy and wood floors), so I decided to recover them before my friend Eva visited.

Before:

Before

After:

After

Amy Butler fabric of course. 🙂

I’ve been so busy lately I’m exhausted! First the in-laws came for a couple days while they were on spring break (they are both teachers). They left after a short, but activity packed visit (shopping and eating out mainly), and the same day we’d planned a St. Patrick’s day party. For that Chad cleared out, and I cleaned and primed the den/junk room into a play room (maybe I overdid the prep for the party a bit). It still needs a lot of work, but we just wanted to get it use-able. It was nice to not have to worry about the kids much of the night. The party was a lot of fun, but I wish I’d had time to get all the food prep done beforehand. Half the time I didn’t feel like I was at my own party because of that and taking care of L. But, she was amazing and slept through half the party once I put her down for bed. B got to stay up late even though he was run down from the grandparent’s visit (he just doesn’t do well with changes to his schedule and being spoiled with sugar). He was running on adrenaline from the other kids I guess.

Then, we had a couple days break, and Eva came along with her boyfriend Christian. We had a good visit, and got to go check out the new power and light district (which is really cool). They were only here for a little while, then we all drove down together (in the new, old van we just bought) to see mine and Eva’s family in Enid, Oklahoma. We’re both from there, and have been friends since 4th grade. Her whole family still lives there, and my grandma and a lot of extended family. So, that’s where we spent Easter, and all got sick.  By the end of the weekend we were all sick though.

I spent 10 HOURS at the emergency room yesterday with L only to find out she is FINE (besides a regular cold). Ugh. Sunday night she ran a high temp for her age. I called Ask a Nurse, and she said tylenol and dr in the morning. Took her to the dr who sent me to the emergency room for testing that he couldn’t do in the office. Dr at emergency room said no testing was needed, after making me wait for 9 hours with a bunch of gross sick people with an 11 wk old! grrrrr So, down with the family Dr, looking for a pediatrician. I learned my lesson. By the way, I did mention that I’m sick too, right? Thanks for letting me vent. 🙂

Now I don’t feel like doing anything, and there is another friend visiting. It’s cool, but I don’t want to clean my house. Maybe I won’t. hehe. As if.

Apparently tiredness makes me talk like a teenager in the 90’s.

4 Responses to "Pillow Makeover"

Those pillows are gorgeous — just like the rest of your living room! You have such a great eye for decorating.

For the record, you guys pulled off a lovely party — especially considering that you had just finished entertaining house guests. Impressive. One of the nicest touches: green apples as tea light holders. Simple, elegant…organic?

Very nice pillows…sorry to hear about the er visit. We have been sick off and on since CO and one child had 103 fever. It is scary and I think safer to take them in 🙂 Hope you feel better soon.

10 hours?!? You poor thing! Even though it stinks you had to go through all that, I’m glad she’s okay. Having a sick baby panics a mommy faster than just about anything. They’re just so tiny! I hope you get better soon. Maybe I could com over and we could have a cleaning party. 🙂 Assuming my kids wouldn’t just mess it back up faster than we could clean it. hehe

P.S. Your pillows are waaaay cool. (See? I can do 90’s too.)

Leave a Reply

About Me…

A stay-at-home mother of 3 trying to balance homeschooling, gardening, baking, and crafting besides all the day-to-day upkeep of house and family (and still keep my sanity).
I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

Flickr Photos

Libby's Rabbit House

An embroidered potted Alium

A visiting Robbin

More Photos
Follow Me on Pinterest
