Searching For Creativity

About Myself

Posted on: June 7, 2008

A  blog I read (because her kids are SO adorable) does this every once in a while, and I thought it looked fun, so I’m going to copy her.

Outside: I’ve had a depressing day. The storm has been reeking havoc on my vegetables. The seeds are not coming up very well. And on top of all that: my honeysuckle got weed-eated. I bought it a couple weekends ago, and I was noticing yesterday how well it was doing, and I was so excited. I can’t tell you how heartbroken I was about it. But, I’m slowly working my way through my grief, and I’m able to find some humor in it. 🙂 This may all seem a little dramatic, but it was one of those things that I felt I really needed to make myself happy with my yard even when it’s not like I’d imagined (when I finally got my own house). There’s a good quote in the bible study workbook I’m going through that I need plastered on my wall or something:

“Heaven is not here, it’s there. If we were given all we wanted here, our hearts would settle for this world rather than the next. God is forever luring us up and away from this one, wooing us to Himself and His still invisible Kingdom, where we will certainly find what we so keenly long for.” Elisabeth Elliot

I am Thinking: maybe I shouldn’t be spending so much time blogging when I’ve been feeling like I just can’t get ahead of all the work I have to do lately, but maybe I should give myself a break since it’s 9:45 at night on a friday night for goodness sakes.

I am Thankful For: my family’s safety through all the storms we’ve been having. I don’t think I’ve ever worried about tornadoes like I have been this year. I feel like I have too much at stake now with two kids I guess. Or maybe I’ve finally gotten old enough to sense my own mortality. hehe.

In My Kitchen: Yesterday I botched a boxed brownie mix. I didn’t have any eggs, so I decided to substitute mayonnaise, which I have successfully done before. Apparently you can only substitute one egg– not both. Or maybe I’ve never done it with brownies before. I NEEDED those brownies though. I did manage to pull off the homemade pizzas though (dough and all).

I am wearing: Jeans and the shirt that Ginny made me for my bday. It’s cute and torquoisish. A Built By Wendy pattern. I need to make myself a dress from this pattern. I made a similar shirt before, but I can’t find the blog post for it. I need to sort my posts better!

Latest Creative Endeavor: Just finished another Nappy Bag. I’ll be posting a pic of it soon. Also working on a quilt for Lillian.

I am going: to bed eventually. I think C and I are going to watch the last half of Grey’s Anatomy’s season finale.

Can’t Wait For: George RR Martin’s next book in the Song of Ice and Fire series.

Family News: My mom, Grandma, and brother get home from Greece tomorrow night! Brendan is finally getting better with the potty training (he doesn’t scream every time I take him to pee).

Current Read: Just finished (last night) To Kill a Mockingbird for the first time. It was great. I could hardly put it down.

I am hoping: my newest seeds will come up.

I am hearing: Michael Buble (ok, so I just turned it on)

Around the house: thought I would join my neighborhood’s garage sale tomorrow, then thought better of it.

Simple Pleasures: Dr Pepper at Target when I got away for a couple hours tonight.

Plans for the Weekend: Getting stuff done. Hanging out with family on Sunday.

Done finally! If you stuck with it, then thanks. hehe

5 Responses to "About Myself"

oh my, who weed eated it? i think i did that a couple of times when i worked for my dad’s lawn care business. it is so sad. i loved reading your blogs. i think they are a good relaxer, unwinder to your busy life…please keep blogging; i love it! and i can’t wait to see the new nappy. are you selling it or keeping it for yourself?

Maybe tornadoes are more scary because you own a house now too? And yeah, two kids.

sorry to hear about your garden. You really do a great job with it and helped me to start 🙂 I also enjoy your blog and your pics of all your creativity! The Elizabeth Elliot quote is true and important to remember, but so hard to live out. Keep on relying on Him 🙂 that’s what I TRY to do each day. That reminds me to go finish my last day of bible study – see you then 🙂

speaking of gardens, you DO an awesome job with yours and i may be hitting you up for some advice here next year. i need advice on whether i should use the existing one or start all over, or (since it backs up to the woods) if i should just give it up all together. 🙂 miss you — haven’t heard from you in a while…

How about another one of these posts? 🙂 love you!

Leave a Reply

About Me…

A stay-at-home mother of 3 trying to balance homeschooling, gardening, baking, and crafting besides all the day-to-day upkeep of house and family (and still keep my sanity).
I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

Flickr Photos

Follow Me on Pinterest
