Searching For Creativity

Loads of Pics

Posted on: August 16, 2008

Check out L’s newest feat. I came around the corner to find her starting to put her foot up on the first stair. Not ready for this!!! Check out those chubby leg. She really did have clothes on, but she managed to poop on them before this pic.

Here’s B enjoying meal right before that. He asked me to take a pic of him while I was documenting the meal.

Not the greatest pic in the world, but believe me: the food was awesome! There’s a rip-off of Appelbee’s Tequila Lime Chicken that I’ve been making for a few years and love. I got a basic recipe on Topsecretrecipes, and have made it my own. Then we have a salad made of lettuce and the Mexi ranch that is on top of the chicken (pico de gayo and ranch dressing mixed). The pico de gayo was made with all very fresh ingredients, although I bought the tomatoes from the farmer’s market. And last but not least: we have the stuffed banana pepper. The pepper is, of course, from the garden. It’s stuffed with sauteed onion, purple pepper (the only one I’ve gotten from the garden so far), and tomato and cheddar cheese. It’s wrapped in bacon, and then broiled. Delicious!

Here’s a greasy looking pic. I needed a good recipe to take advantage of the abundance of banana peppers I’m getting from my garden. Here’s the recipe. It doesn’t say to sautée the veggies, but I highly recommend it.

And then to top it all off: the most amazing (fresh) peach cobbler ever. I got the recipe from a cook book called Stir Ups: Boot Kickin’ flavor lickin’ recipes from the Great Plains that is put together in my birthplace– Enid, OKlahoma. I must share:

3/4 cup flour
3/4 cup milk
pinch of salt
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/4 tsp cinnamon (why not use 1/2 tsp 🙂
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 cup butter (don’t use margarine pls!)
2 cups fresh peaches, peeled and sliced
1/2 cup sugar (I used splenda)

Sift together flour, salt, cinnamon, and baking powder.
Mix in sugars.  Stir in milk and beat.

Melt butter in 9×9 inch baking dish.

Pour batter over butter.
Pour peaches mixed with 1/2 cup sugar over this.  Do not stir.
Bake 350 degrees f for 1 hour.
Can use canned peaches if desperate.

I added the parenthesis.  What really makes it great is that the batter sort of fries in the butter– amazing! 🙂 Enjoy!

1 Response to "Loads of Pics"

Not fair. I can not look at these food pictures anymore.

Leave a Reply

About Me…

A stay-at-home mother of 3 trying to balance homeschooling, gardening, baking, and crafting besides all the day-to-day upkeep of house and family (and still keep my sanity).
I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

Flickr Photos

Libby's Rabbit House

An embroidered potted Alium

A visiting Robbin

More Photos
Follow Me on Pinterest
