Searching For Creativity

Finally the Garden

Posted on: September 9, 2008

I thought I’d finally show you my mishmash garden.  The first two pics are just to show you how crazy my ornamental squash plants have grown.  In the top picture they are planted in the right raised bed, in the two squares closest to the camera.  And they’ve filled that space between the raised beds, and grown all the way up to the fence, and over it.  As you can see in the second picture. The squash is at the top of the fence there, and peonies are growing at the bottom.  I’ve just been weaving the squash plant in and out so that it won’t grow over onto my driveway!

This picture is also of the raised bed with the squash in it.  You can see basil and lemon grass in that bed as well.  The tomato plants are in the box behind.  The taller plant never gave me any tomatoes, I don’t think it had enough sun.  That’s the shadiest box in the garden.  Won’t be using it for tomatoes next year!  It’s all a learning experience after all.

2 Responses to "Finally the Garden"

wow, Alicia…that’s crazy. Do you fertilize your stuff or something! I know what you mean about a learning experience. I am happy to try some different things next year.

I didn’t fertilize at all! The dirt is part composted manure though. Not sure when the last time the grass was fertilized…

Leave a Reply

About Me…

A stay-at-home mother of 3 trying to balance homeschooling, gardening, baking, and crafting besides all the day-to-day upkeep of house and family (and still keep my sanity).
I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

Flickr Photos

Follow Me on Pinterest
