Searching For Creativity

It’s Been Awhile

Posted on: March 11, 2009

Outside:  I’ve tilled my garden (easy job with this soil), and next week the first seeds will be going in the ground!!  It’s cold and rainy right now.  Man, the weather has been crazy lately.

In My Kitchen:  My Grandma gave me a sourdough starter, so I’ve been making bread, blueberry muffins, and cinnamon rolls with that.  Today I made  blueberry muffins from a box– hehe.

I am wearing: yoga pants, flip flops, and a t-shirt over a long sleeved t.  I’ve been wearing flip flops around a lot lately despite cold feet.  Last week I broke my toe on a paper back book.  Ha.  Of course I’m not ABSOLUTELY sure that it is broken, but it isn’t healing quickly.  I was in hot pursuit of my children (to tickle them), and there was a book on the floor.  The really bad thing is that I can’t stand wearing tennis shoes, so I’m going to lose the little muscle I’ve managed to work up.  *pout*

Latest Creative Endeavor: I promised to be better and take pics of the things I’m working on, but apparently I lied.  I lost my camera.  Today I finished a really cute (and easy) skirt for L made of some cool Amy Butler fabric.

I am going:  To fold laundry and get caught up on Ugly Betty after posting this, then I will have all my laundry done for the week… only a day late.

Can’t Wait For:  My sister-in-law Gretchen and her boyfriend are coming to visit in a little over a week.  Yay!  Starting to plan where to take them and all that.  We’ve had requests for Thai coconut soup and orange julius (which C makes), and I’m sure I’ll concoct some awesome desert while they’re here.  More on that later.

Family News:  The kids and I spent 6 days down in Enid visiting my Grandma and friend Eva (you may remember pics from her wedding in July).  Eva has moved back to our hometown to be with her family while her hubby is away in Afghanistan.  She seems to be doing well, and they got to talk on the phone a lot while I was there.  She pampered me while I was there– I got a pedicure, facial, and haircut!  We also watched a few movies together, including He’s Just Not That Into You (which I really liked even though there were some painfully embarrassing moments).  The kids got to play with their cousins (Andrew and Ava) a little bit.  Grandma had a lot of fun getting to spend some time with them, but it was a little much for her, and she had some health issues while we were there.  That was a little scary, but turned out fine.  Uncle Tom bought L her first sucker, and I didn’t have the heart to say no.  She loved it of course, but didn’t cry too much when I took it away…

Oh, and poor baby got bit by a dog.  She only had a scratch though.  Luckily it was an old dog with no teeth in front.  Stupid Dog.

There’s really been a lot of things going on in the fam since the last time I updated.  Many of you read my mom’s blog though, so you already know that we’ve had two foster kids added to the family (at their house not mine).  Adds a little craziness to Sunday dinners, but in a good way. 🙂

Current Read:  I haven’t finished any of the books I’ve mentioned in previous updates.  Nothing new started though.

I am hoping:  That I didn’t gain weight in Enid with all the junk food around.  I’ll have to go back to the Y to be sure.

I am hearing:  Beck’s Sea Change.  One of my favorite albums.

Around the house: Been doing a little painting that I’ve been putting off, because I had to borrow my bro’s ladder.  Just catching up from being gone a week.  Projects lined up to get done.

Simple Pleasures:  L and B giggling while their daddy entertains them.

Plans for the Weekend:   There’s a couple possibilities, but I’m hoping that we’ll get some work done around the house!

2 Responses to "It’s Been Awhile"

ooh is it the same coconut soup i gave you the recipe for?

Leave a Reply

About Me…

A stay-at-home mother of 3 trying to balance homeschooling, gardening, baking, and crafting besides all the day-to-day upkeep of house and family (and still keep my sanity).
I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

Flickr Photos

Libby's Rabbit House

An embroidered potted Alium

A visiting Robbin

More Photos
Follow Me on Pinterest
