Searching For Creativity

A Homemade Life

Posted on: September 10, 2009

Just started reading A Homemade Life— I’m about three chapters in.    It’s really good so far– really well written and interesting.  Haven’t tried any of the recipes so far (each chapter has one), but I wanted to share a quote from the introduction that I really liked.  I’m just having a hard time narrowing it down!

“You know, we eat better than most people do in restaurants!” her father would loudly say (much like the Dad in The Castle!).

“It’s not that we knew how to cook especially well, or that we always ate food that was particularly good… What was so satisfying, I think, was something else.  It was the steady rhythm of meeting in the kitchen every night, sitting down at the table, and sharing a meal.  Dinner didn’t come through a swinging door, balanced on the arm of an anonymous waiter: it was something we made together.  We built our family that way– in the kitchen, seven nights a week.  We built a life for ourselves, together around that table.  And although I couldn’t admit it then, my father was showing me, in his pleasure and in his pride, how to live it: wholly, hungrily, loudly.”

I could quote practically the whole introduction.   So much of it hits home for me (“I learned to cook because it was a given… I hardly even thought about it.  By a sort of osmosis, I picked up a sense of comfort in the kitchen, and a hunger that lasted long past breakfast, lunch, and dinner.”), and it makes me want the same for my children.

“In the simple acts of cooking and eating, we are creating and continuing the stories that are our lives.”

Now I’m headed over to check out  Molly’s blog!

Leave a Reply

About Me…

A stay-at-home mother of 3 trying to balance homeschooling, gardening, baking, and crafting besides all the day-to-day upkeep of house and family (and still keep my sanity).
I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

Flickr Photos

Follow Me on Pinterest
