Searching For Creativity

Long Overdue

Posted on: September 30, 2009

An  Update!  Thanks to Facebook I hardly ever do these anymore. 🙂

Wedding

Outside: I’m stilling harvesting tomatoes, summer squash, zucchini, jalapenos, herbs, and peppers from the garden.   I don’t know how much time I have left, but I’ll enjoy it while I can.  On Saturday my Grandma and I took the kids to the Red Barn Farm up in Weston.  We took a horse drawn hayride out to the huge pumpkin patch and picked a pumpkin to bring home.  I also picked out a pretty white one from the ones they had sitting out.  Fun times.  I have some Martha Stewart plans for them, so maybe I’ll be sharing a pic soon.

In My Kitchen:  Still working my way through the Sticky Gooey cookbook.  Last Saturday was my nephew’s and little foster “brother’s” birthday party.  So, I made the banana bread pudding.  Didn’t get a picture of course, but I’ll just tell you– delicious!  I also tried a cookie recipe from the latest “Everyday Food” magazine.  I used their caramel recipe (which was awesome and fairly easy) to make the icing that was sandwiched between two chocolate cookies.  I’m sticking with that caramel recipe from now on.  Not bothering with the lesser one in Sticky Gooey.  Amazing– I have a criticism of my favorite cookbook. 🙂  Sometimes Martha just knows better. OH YEAH. I’m very excited about the new book: Sticky, Chewy, Messy, Gooey Treats for Kids!!!!

I am wearing: I went for a jog/walk with the kids in the double stroller, and now need to get in the shower.  So, I’m wearing my jogging shoes, navy pants, and aqua tank top.

Can’t Wait For:  Tomorrow nights date night with C– he has free tickets to see Zombieland.  🙂  I’m a sucker for Zombie movies, and this one looks really funny.

Current Read: Kristin Lavransdatter is the only one I should admit to.  But I already talked about zombies so why not Mr. Darcy, Vampyre too. lol.

I am hoping: To start feeling good enough to keep up with my house.  Today.  🙂  I think it’s been like a month since I felt good. bleh.

Around the house:  See above.

Simple Pleasures: Cinnamon rolls.  Sunny days.  Wee kisses.

Plans for the Weekend:   Maybe a school carnival and a neighbor’s birthday party.

Family Update:  C and I just celebrated our 8th wedding anniversary.  (see pic above)  I would put an after pic too, but I wouldn’t like it so close to the before pic. lol.

Lillian: getting lots of teeth and new words suddenly.

Brendan: has improved tremendously on handwriting and coloring (staying in the lines) just in the last month.

House: C is chugging away at the kitchen and bathroom remodel.  Slow work.  We have had some helpers lately though.  I have hope it may someday be done. ::)

4 Responses to "Long Overdue"

Oh my gosh! Sticky Chewy for Kids! I am totally pre-ordering this tonight!!!

a month of feeling not good…. 🙂 congratulations on your 8 years of marriage!!!

Please keep updating for those of us who are not on Facebook constantly. The Banana Bread Pudding with Chocolate Sauce was absolutely wonderful, was just having flashbacks yesterday. Happy Anniversary…kept thinking I would do something wonderful for it then didn’t do anything at all. Just like G & J’s. Bad mom.

Thanks. Don’t worry– Dad sent an e-card. 🙂

Leave a Reply

About Me…

A stay-at-home mother of 3 trying to balance homeschooling, gardening, baking, and crafting besides all the day-to-day upkeep of house and family (and still keep my sanity).
I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

Flickr Photos

Follow Me on Pinterest
