Searching For Creativity

Oliver + S

Posted on: November 5, 2009

I recently made a dress for my friend Morgan’s baby girl, Darcy.  It’s an Oliver + S pattern that is super cute: the Playdate Dress.  I’m really sad that I didn’t get one made for Lillian (since the one I did make kinda flopped).  I find it hard to get the yoke to work for the size that it says it is.  For Darcy I made the yoke, and tried it on her before attaching to the dress. It was too small, so I made the next size up.  That worked fine, except it was a little hard to attach to the dress.  It’s probably just because I’m not an expert sewer, but I find these designer patterns hard to read at times.  Anyway, check out how cute it turned out!  It helps that the model is beautiful of course.

IMG_4848IMG_4861

Amazingly enough, I found the fabric at Joann’s.  I hardly ever find good clothing fabrics there.  This was great, because Morgan definitely prefers bright colors for her girls rather than your normal pastels.  I did sneak a little pastel in though. 🙂  For an extra homemade touch I added some embroidery to the yoke.  I haven’t done much embroidery lately, so it was sort of nice although time consuming!

I love the little puffy sleeves and there’s a cute dart in the front that you can sort of see in the pics.  Nice details in this pattern!

Miss you Morgan! =(

3 Responses to "Oliver + S"

Beautiful! She is so sweet. 🙂

very cute! good job Alicia! wish I could do something like that!

Leave a Reply

About Me…

A stay-at-home mother of 3 trying to balance homeschooling, gardening, baking, and crafting besides all the day-to-day upkeep of house and family (and still keep my sanity).
I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

Flickr Photos

Libby's Rabbit House

An embroidered potted Alium

A visiting Robbin

More Photos
Follow Me on Pinterest
