Searching For Creativity

More Cakes

Posted on: June 1, 2010

I’ve done more cake baking than sewing lately.

Martha Stewart’s Graduation cake.  Yummy dutch chocolate cake, with tuiles on top to look like diplomats.  I couldn’t find candy ribbon easily, so I just used twizzlers.   Not exactly a big hit on a really hot day outside.  Something to remember.  The regular old chocolate chip cookies I made were all gone by the end of the day though (not that I don’t love them too).

The cheesecake I made for Chad’s birthday party/Memorial day celebration went over a little better.  I just finished off this last piece after taking the pic. 🙂  I got the recipe from a friend whose version was better in my opinion.  Maybe it was a substitution I made.  Maybe she’s just a better cook.  It has orange zest in the cheesecake,  orange marmalade on top, and chocolate shavings.  Yum.  The only cheesecake I might prefer over the traditional plain with fruit topping.

My uncle Brad also brought homemade strawberry icecream with fresh strawberries from his garden.  Too bad I didn’t have that to finish off this afternoon.  Mmmmm.

4 Responses to "More Cakes"

LOVED that grad cake, Alicia!

I’m happy to say that I sampled all the wares listed and they were delicious. Is it any wonder I have gained so much weight?

I was kinda thinking the same thing about myself!

Leave a Reply

About Me…

A stay-at-home mother of 3 trying to balance homeschooling, gardening, baking, and crafting besides all the day-to-day upkeep of house and family (and still keep my sanity).
I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

Flickr Photos

Follow Me on Pinterest
