Searching For Creativity

Sewing Update

Posted on: October 5, 2010

I’ve been having a hard time getting any decent pictures of the stuff I’ve been making lately.  My little model is camera shy these days.  But, here are a couple things I’ve done lately anyway…

This is the Tea Party Sundress by Oliver + S made with Anna Maria Horner voile fabrics.    The pattern was a little more difficult than others I’ve made because of the tulip shape of the skirt (made out of several different pieces put together), and the buttons.  But, since I couldn’t get my machine to do a button hole to fit those big buttons I skipped that major step.  The buttons are sewn on the top, and the closure is actually velcro.  Which means Lillian takes it apart all the time… not good.  The fabrics:  I LOVE the voile fabric.  It’s light and airy, and beautiful.

This dress is half Simplicity and half Oliver + S.  A few months back I made the Bubble dress for my niece Libby (never got any pics of it unforunately).  So, when I bought this Simplicity pattern (2460), because of the look of the top part I realized that the way they did the bubble would just not work for what I want to do.  Which, ultimately, is to make a fancy flower girl dress for my sis-in-laws wedding.  This dress was mainly to make sure that I could use the skirt from Oliver and the top from Simplicity together.  A good excuse for another dress for Lillian.  Fabric: the main one is another Anna Maria– an old one that i don’t think is in print anymore.  The midriff part is Amy Butler.  Sort of makes for a busy dress (for me), but I was trying to use only fabrics I already had.  I didn’t have enough fabric to make the straps, so I just used ribbon.  Twice as much as the picture actually shows, unfortunately Lillian sabotaged this dress all along the way.  Turning all my sewing machine knobs TWO different times, plus taking scissors to the ribbon.  Yikes.

So, now I’m working on the flower girl dress.  Half way done!

4 Responses to "Sewing Update"

Looks like she is feeling better. Great fabrics! Good luck on the flower girl dress.

beautiful 🙂

I love it! Good job!

WOw, so cool! What a hard worker.

Leave a Reply

About Me…

A stay-at-home mother of 3 trying to balance homeschooling, gardening, baking, and crafting besides all the day-to-day upkeep of house and family (and still keep my sanity).
I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

Flickr Photos

Follow Me on Pinterest
