Searching For Creativity

2010 in Review

Posted on: January 6, 2011

Some things worth remembering/mentioning about 2010.  In no particular order.

California– after wanting to go since I was probably 8 (when my Grandma started promising Disneyland), I finally went this summer.  Even better: I met one of my best friends there for some girl time!  First time west of Colorado!

I’ve tried out many new recipes this past year, but the one that stands out the most to me right now is the French Macaroons.  Probably because it’s something you see pretty pictures of all the time, and I’ve wanted to make for a while.  These were delicious!  Too bad I didn’t get any pics of the actual ones I made.  Borrowed this one from Martha. 🙂  As a side note– I’m now the proud owner of a signed copy of this year’s Holiday Cookie magazine thanks to my baby  brother Taylor and his girlfriend Dana (who’s sister is Martha’s assistant!).  These cookies are also a step forward in my quest to master the pastry (see my list of 100 things to do before I die).

Speaking of Baby Brother– he moved away to go to college in Macon, Georgia this past fall.  It’s sad to have him so far away, and that he’s sort of an adult now! 🙂

In the sewing department I’ve feel like I’ve made some fairly good headway this year.  Sewed many new things, including a few dresses for Lillian.  One of which caused me to tackle (and conquer!) my fear of sewing with Satin.  Now I’ll be all set for her prom dresses. lol.   Hopefully I’ll have some better pics to share of this soon!

Find out that Toney baby #3 was on his way was definitely a big deal!  We are eagerly awaiting his March 18 due date.  I’m hoping I can make it that long. 🙂

We had a rather exciting Christmas present this year!  My sweet new nephew, Jude!

Even though it didn’t change things much THIS year, it’s worth noting that my parents celebrated their 30th anniversary this year!  Not many people married when they are 18 make it so long, and I know it hasn’t always been easy.  What marriage is, really?  Congrats to them, and thanks for all your hard work! 🙂

Our family has grown in more ways than one this year!  In August we traveled to Wisconsin to see my brother, Nicholas, marry his beautiful wife, Staci.  Glad to have another female (and sister) in the Campbell family.  We need them. 🙂   She can also whip the guys butt in most games.

And on the Toney side we got a new brother when Chad’s sister Gretchen married her long-time boyfriend, Jeff.  It’s nice to have another “kid” at all the family functions.

This year we’ve been getting used to having an actual Kindergartner among us.  It was going a little better before we had to take a 3 week recess!

We started hard-core homeschooling this year, and I’m facing my fear of teaching Brendan how to read.  It’s actually going fairly smoothly… especially compared to teaching him to write neatly!!

Well, that’s a very quick look at the last year, but now it’s time to start looking ahead!  Next post, we’ll go for Goals for 2011!

Leave a comment

About Me…

A stay-at-home mother of 3 trying to balance homeschooling, gardening, baking, and crafting besides all the day-to-day upkeep of house and family (and still keep my sanity).
I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

Flickr Photos

Follow Me on Pinterest