Searching For Creativity

Lillian’s Quilt

Posted on: March 8, 2011

Here’s Lillian enjoying her newly finished quilt in her crib daybed, which we’ll soon be replacing (since the baby needs the crib). 

I started this quilt long ago, but I had her in mind all along.  When I discovered these fabrics I was not a big fan of quilting, because I thought quilts just weren’t my style.  They’ve come a long way since then!  And I’ve changed a little too.   Here’s my original post.

So, I had the top pieced together, but I still had to make the back, machine quilt, and bind.  The bad thing about finishing something you made a while ago, is that I know more now and would’ve done a better job putting the fabric together and piecing it more exactly.  For one thing, I hate that I used the dark brown cheapo fabric on it in the upper right corner.  I think that part looks horrible.  BUT overall I’m happy with how it turned out. 

And I did make a way cooler back than I’d originally planned (plain brown).  I just used materials I already had stocked up too.  This back picture I took before I finished the quilt, so you can’t see the quilting.

I basically followed Amy’s instructions for machine quilting in straight lines and boxes, because I think it’s pretty cool.  I didn’t follow her bad binding directions though.  Decided on the super quick  one-step machine-attached binding, and I’m happy with that.

I think L likes it pretty well too. 🙂

Leave a comment

About Me…

A stay-at-home mother of 3 trying to balance homeschooling, gardening, baking, and crafting besides all the day-to-day upkeep of house and family (and still keep my sanity).
I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

Flickr Photos

Follow Me on Pinterest