Searching For Creativity

January’s Update

Posted on: February 7, 2011

Outside:  Sunny and Cold.  More snow on the way supposedly.  I really haven’t minded being stuck inside though.

In My Kitchen:   Made some double chocolate chip cookie sandwiches (from the Sticky Gooey book of course)  over the weekend.  Delicious.  Found out that Kirkland (costco) vanilla icecream is creamy and delicious to go with.  Also, made a delicious mango upside-down cake this past week.  I didn’t have crystallized ginger, so I just used powdered.

I am wearing: A black knit dress, and a cardigan.  Not really comfortable in most pants right now (at 35 weeks pregnant and huge).

Can’t Wait For:  My baby boy to come!  Also, my good friend Morgan to come back to KC for  awhile!  Happening at about the same time too.

Current Read:  In January I finished the Hunger Games trilogy, which was enjoyable.   Now I’m reading Deadhouse Gates Book Two of the Malazan Book of the fallen, which I wish I was liking more than I am.

I am hoping: to have more energy tomorrow than I do today. 🙂  I have a lot to get done in the next month!!

Around the house:  Trying to get everything cleaned out, and ready for New Baby.  Chad has been getting my new laundry room ready too.  Still a ways to go unfortunately.  Wishing I wasn’t lugging laundry up and down two flights of stairs today.

Simple Pleasures:  voluntary kisses from the kids.  and Dr Pepper.

Creativity:  Finishing a quilt for L that I actually started before she was conceived– it’s long overdue.  Starting one for B.  It’s the one on the cover of this GREAT new book I just got.  Also, finishing knitting a hat for B… maybe he’ll get to use it a month before winter goes away.

Plans for the Weekend:  A date night, and hopefully celebrating two of my brother’s birthdays!  Hopefully that means that the one that lives out of town will be HERE.

Family Update:  The big kids moved into L’s room together.  So far so good!  That’s one reason I’m doing the quilts.  We’re going for a sort of nature theme.  A very loose theme it is too. 🙂  Trying to decide whether to change a couple walls (most of the room actually)  from bubblegum pink to green or light brown.  But that will happen after I’ve recovered from the baby a little anyway.

Lillian:  Walks around constantly in a princess dress or Tutu saying she’s a princess.  Although sometimes she is in disguise as a Halo Reach girl.  Goody.  Or a puppy that licks you.

Brendan:  Is doing well in homeschool.  He LOVES math.  I need a little motivation in the whole school area right now though.  Not exactly making it exciting, or even getting done everything I wish I were.

Leave a comment

About Me…

A stay-at-home mother of 3 trying to balance homeschooling, gardening, baking, and crafting besides all the day-to-day upkeep of house and family (and still keep my sanity).
I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

Flickr Photos

Follow Me on Pinterest